Add, Change, or Inactivate an Atlas User

Every person that needs to access your Atlas system must be set up with a User Account. You can create and configure each user according to the level of access they should be granted in your Atlas System.

Atlas uses a Username and Password credentials system to ensure the privacy and security of your data. No matter which method you log in to Atlas (Desktop App, Mobile Interface, or iPad App) your user credentials will be the same. Every user in Atlas must have the following items:

  • A Profile Record in Atlas
  • An email address
  • A User Name
  • A Password
  • A User Role

Adding a New User Account

Before beginning the steps below, ensure that the user Account you are about to create has a Profile Record you can link it to.

  1. On the menu bar, click Admin > Manage Users. The System  Users window will open.
  2. On the System Users Form, select the New User button
  3. Fill in the full name, email address, user name and password of the user.
  4. Choose user role. See Notes below
  5. Create user name and password.
  6. Click  the [...] browse button, which will open the Profile Selector.  Look up the profile of the user in the database, and select it (this will return you to the New User screen).
  7. Click Save.

Changing an Existing User Account

If an existing User needs new access levels or a new password in Atlas, you can modify their existing User Account. Follow these steps to modify an existing User Account:

  1. Go to Admin > Manage Users. The System Users window will open.
  2. Click the Left margin of the User you want to inactivate in the data grid. The System Users information at the top of the screen will fill with that User's Account Settings.
  3. Modify the information that needs to change.
  4. Click Save Changes

 

Deleting or Inactivating a User Account

Atlas will not allow you to Delete a User, since there might be history associated with that user that would need to be preserved in your Atlas System. If you have a staff member that leaves and you don't want that User Account to be available anymore, follow these steps to Inactivate the User Account.

  1. Go to Admin > Manage Users. The System Users window will open.
  2. Click the Left margin of the User you want to inactivate in the data grid. The System Users information at the top of the screen will fill with that User's Account Settings.
  3. Check the Inactivate User box.
  4. If you want, set the Date Inactive box to be the date you set them inactive
  5. Click Save Changes. All of their access will now be denied if they try to log in with that User Account.

 Notes

  • User Roles may be created and/or edited in the Manage Codes section > User Codes > User Roles.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Want some training on Atlas? Sign up today for one of our upcoming online training classes.